Registered Financial Associate

The Registered Financial Associate (RFA®) is a designation awarded by the IARFC to financial consultants who meet the high standards of education, experience, and ethics. The RFA is offered to Financial Professionals with less than three years of financial service industry experience or a Bachelor’s or graduate degree in financial planning from an institution offering a professional designation equivalent curriculum. 

The RFA is offered to recent graduates of an approved academic curriculum in financial services or financial professionals who have less than 3 years of experience in the financial services industry.

ONE OF THE FOLLOWING to satisfy the education requirement:
  • One of the following professional designation: AAMS®, CFA, CFP®, ChFC®, CLU®, CPA, EA, LUTCF®.
  • A Series 65 Securities license or one of the following combinations: Series 6 & 63, Series 6 & 66, Series 7 & 63, Series 7 & 66.
  • Life Insurance license.
  • A Bachelors’ or advanced degree in Business, Finance, Economics, or a related field.
(Education requirement can also be met by completing the entire course requirements for one of the designations listed above.) 

Applicants must have the required licenses necessary for their mode of practice. 

Applicant must have a sound record of business integrity with no suspension or revocation of any professional designations or licenses. Must be in good standing with all licensing bodies and organizations.

Applicants must subscribe and adhere to the IARFC Code of Ethics.

Application and Fees  
Complete the application in its entirety and submit the appropriate application fee.

Continuing Education
All RFA®  designated members must agree to devote a minimum of 40 units every two years of professional Continuing Education in the field of personal finance and professional practice management. Four units every two years must be devoted to ethics. Click here for more information on Continuing Education. 

Annually provide assurance of continued compliance and operation.

Click here to apply