National Financial Plan Competition 2024

IARFC® National Financial Plan Competition…

Great News!
The Semi-Final Judging is now complete! Normally we have six teams advancing to the Semi-Finals but this year we had 3 teams tie for 6th place! These 8 teams will be competing for 3 slots for their chance to present live at the IARFC's 40th Celebration and Conference in Asheville, NC at the Biltmore® Estate! The 8 teams advancing to the Semi-Finals are:

  • Andrew Hardaway and Seth Grant, University of North Texas, David Ragan, Adjunct Professor
  • Zach Sterner and Blake Asplund, Utah Valley University, Luke Dean, Ph.D. - Associate Professor
  • David Sun and Olivia Holt, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Craig Lemoine, Ph.D.
  • Justin Watson and Jake McCollum, Truman State University, Yung-Hawl Park, Ph.D.
  • Corinne Moosman and Jacob Baker, Utah Valley University, Luke Dean, Ph.D. - Associate Professor
  • Nick Tarr, Illinois State University, Chris Tamm – Associate Professor
  • Elizabeth Bedunah, University of North Texas, David Ragan, Adjunct Professor
  • Avery Simon and William Hiserman, Utah Valley University, Luke Dean, Ph.D. – Associate Professor

Get Real-World Experience

Eligibility: The IARFC National Financial Plan Competition is open only to undergraduate university students who are enrolled in a curriculum of personal financial planning or financial services at a University or College in the US and International Chapters.

Intention: Professors register their students to compete in the NFPC to enhance and gain the “real world” experiences needed in developing a financial plan. The Competition progresses through 3 stages, ending in 3 teams of students presenting their plan in-person to a “real client” at the IARFC Annual Meeting in front of an audience. For more information email plancomp@iarfc.org.

• Expenses must be approved by the Chapter before submission with consent emailed to plancomp@iarfc.org.
• International Chapter will be responsible for their finalist team(s) round-trip airfare to Asheville, NC. (Professors may attend at their own expense.)

We invite you to support the Competition as a Corporate Sponsor or an Individual Donor.

2024 Registration Documentation 
Details, Rules & Resources
Participation Agreement
Team Assignments and Software Request

Competition Benefits

Finalist Teams receive:

• A certificate and cash award
• In-person plan presentation time during the Finals of the Competition at an IARFC Meeting
• All expenses paid (airfare*, lodging, meals, applicable event registration)
• One year free* IARFC membership or Registered Financial Associate, RFA® (depending on qualifications per Chapter) to First Place winners.
• Networking and Career opportunities with experienced financial consultants (potential career opportunities)
• Resume-building achievements

Professors of Finalist Teams receive:

• Certificates of recognition for team placement in Competition

Universities of Finalist Teams receive:

• Awards for the Universities

Media Coverage for students, professors, and university:

• Publication of winning plan in the IARFC Academic Journal of Personal Finance
• Recognition in the IARFC National Industry Magazine, the Register
• Participation and placement announcement on the IARFC Corporate website
• Corporate Social Media coverage including FacebookTwitterBlog, and LinkedIn
• Professional media release notifications
(Any student or professor, by virtue of their participation in the competition, grants implied consent for the IARFC to use photos or videos in the above media coverage areas.)


This is your opportunity to promote your services among the IARFC membership, prospects, and the next generation of financial consultants. 

SPONSOR TODAY - Click here



Barry L Dayley, MRFC®
Alan C Kifer, MRFC®

Michelle Blair, RFC®



Robert K Meints II, RFC®
Mary Anne Redmond, MRFC®
Jon M Rogers, MRFC®




© 1984-2024 IARFC. All Rights Reserved · 146 North Breiel Blvd. Middletown, Ohio 45042 · (800) 532-9060 · info@iarfc.org